Seriuos user interface redesign

2009-11-30
2012-12-07
  • Peter Coyote
    Peter Coyote
    2009-11-30

Dear Igor,

First of all let me thank you for this highly usable peace of software.
    Secondly, I need to point out one weak side of 7zip. User interface looks really ugly for the year of 2009…

Please, don't get me wrong. I'm an IT professional and I always look for functionality over the aesthetics, but in case of 7zip, program is gaining more and more popularity, but the user interface stays the way it was many years ago.

Alternatives to 7zip carry less quality but offer much nicer interface to the end users, therefore gets more easily accepted by them.

If it is too much effort for you at this stage to take care about this, while working on functional aspect of the new betas, you might ask for help of the community and make a poll, with which icon set to replace the current one and what cosmetic changes to implement.

Anyway, keep up the good work and have a nice upcoming holidays.

Thank you once again for working on this project.

Best regards,

Dejan

• Xizzzy
    Xizzzy
    2009-11-30

I support your opinion, Dejan. Earlier I wrote on the forum with a specific proposal to modify the interface.

• Vacon
    Vacon
    2009-11-30

Hello everyone,

I remember your proposal. And Igor pointed you to . Just today I had a look there but nothing happened since spring this year. Didn't you get any reaction?

Best regards!

: http://7ztm.de.vu/

• Peter Coyote
    Peter Coyote
    2009-11-30

I have found the topic vacon had mentioned and I have to ask the following:
    Is it possible that an official attitude of 7zip's developer is that the proper way of dealing with the program's interface is to have a 3rd party developer develop an application which will binary change the original package?
    If that's so, I must say that this is one of the most amateurish approach I ever saw in software development so far.