Config Writeable: NO

BASE-user
Pete
2007-05-01
2013-06-03
  • Pete
    Pete
    2007-05-01

I have been running BASE for about 6 months and decided to uprage to 1.3.5.  For some reason the links on 1.3.5 did not work correctly so I downgraded to 1.2.7.  I completed the BASE setup correctly and was viewing the graphics until the next morning when I accessed the link I received the setup page which states my config is not writeable.  I double checked my permissions and the web server account is in the group that has full permissions to the /var/www/html/base directory.  I tried deleting the base directory and re-installing 1.3.5 and even 1.2.5 but I keep getting the same config not writeable message.  I tried rebooting the server and even granting apache user rull rights.  The only thing that could have occured is some Redhat Enterprise 4 patches could have been applied but I was told that happend after my problem started occuring.  There have been no changes to the web server configuration.

What else do I need to check?

• Pete
      Pete
      2007-05-01

I receive the following error in my /var/log/messages file:

May  1 09:06:47 localhost kernel: audit(1178024807.359:33): avc:  denied  { write } for  pid=7113 comm="http
      d" name="base-php4" dev=dm-0 ino=1441793 scontext=root:system_r:httpd_t tcontext=system_u:object_r:usr_t tcl
      ass=dir

• Kevin Johnson
        Kevin Johnson
        2007-05-01

Looks like SELinux is preventing the access.

Kevin

• Pete
      Pete
      2007-05-02

That did the trick.  It was SELinux blocking things.  Thanks!!!

• Kevin Johnson
        Kevin Johnson
        2007-05-02

Any time.  We are looking at developing an SELinux policy for BASE, but it hasn't happened yet..... volunteers?

• Erik Peirson
      Erik Peirson
      2009-06-30

"That did the trick. It was SELinux blocking things. Thanks!!!  "