Any tutorials on using the alpha channel?

nestman
2011-03-10
2013-06-05
  • nestman
    nestman
    2011-03-10

I am new to using layers and need some help to get started, but I can't find anything on youtube or other website that shows me how to use layers in Seashore.  There are tutorials for PhotoShop, but that doesn't help me much.  I am trying to design a business card where a portion of the background photo shows through the image in the top layer.

Can someone point me in the right direction?

Thanks!

• ChrisR
    ChrisR
    2011-03-10

I don't know where you would find tutorials, except on the Seashore website (I'm sure I read through quite a long help section there).

But briefly :

1. Open an image in Seashore - that's your base or 'Background' layer
    2. Open another image, select the portion you want, and choose Edit > Copy
    3. In your first image choose Edit > Paste - that then becomes 'Layer 1' after you click the 'New Layer' button
    4. Next to each layer there is an i in a circle - click that and you can do various things including opacity, blending, etc

• You can also create new blank layers in Layers > New Layer, into which you can paste images or selections.
    • You can also duplicate layers, create Text layers (the way Seashore handles text is VERY strange if you're used to Photoshop or other editors - the best way is to create a new layer and add text into it).
    • You can also do all the usual stuff like Rearrange layers, Merge layers, Rotate, etc.

Try the Seashore Help from their website, or experiment using Seashore.