Help
Subha_b
2010-08-27
2013-03-12
  • Subha_b
    Subha_b
    2010-08-27

Hi all,
    I am completely new to PIC programming in SDCC. I was trying for last couple of weeks to make some simple programs and make them work. But I have a roadblock -and also quite a few doubts. Anybody's help would be largely appreciated.
    I am very confused about
    1. How to use the libraries for the PICs ?
    2. How to use the initial start-ups namely crt files of PIC16
    3. Also I am facing difficulty in using the various linker options namely  -l / -L , can u pls provide some eg. how to use the linking options with the path name
    4. Last but not the least, how can I know about my code size, i mean whether its within the size of my uC.
    For the record, I am using PIC18F452, in windows platform
    Thanking in Advance,
    SB

• kein0r
    kein0r
    2010-08-28

>1. How to use the libraries for the PICs ?
    Like in any other compiler. You use the function and tell the linke to link against the file (see example below)
    >2. How to use the initial start-ups namely crt files of PIC16
    -use-crt=crt0i.o
    >3. Also I am facing difficulty in using the various linker options namely -l / -L , can u pls provide some eg. how to use the >linking options with the path name
    For compiling one source file i use:
    /usr/local//bin/sdcc  -mpic16 -p18f2620 -debug  -mpic16 -p18f2620 -debug  -stack-auto -std-sdcc99 -D some_defines     -I.   -Imyincludedirs -c ./i2c/i2c_master.c -o output/
    For linking the final binary i use:
    /usr/local//bin/sdcc -debug -L/usr/local//share/sdcc/lib/pic16/ -llibio18f2620.lib -llibc18f.lib -Wl-c -Wl-m  -debug -L/usr/local/share/sdcc/lib/pic16/ -Wl-c -Wl-m  -use-crt=crt0i.o -Wl-s18f2620.lkr,-m -mpic16 -p18f2620 output/file1.o output/file2.o -o output/binfile.hex