PIC "error: missing definition"

Help
2008-06-27
2013-03-12
  • Hi,
    I am new to PIC and SDCC, installed both Piklabs as well as SDCC (2.7.0) from Ubuntu 8.04's synaptic package manager. I am trying to compile a basic code for the pic18f2550 device but in vein.

The code doesn't make sense but this is just to delineate the error SDCC prompts when I try to use any of the C libraries:

#include <pic18f2550.h>
    #include <delay.h>
    #include <adc.h>

void main()
    {
           adc_conv();
            delay10tcy(10);
    }

and the display would be:

sdcc -mpic16 -p18f2550 -V --debug -I/home/ashwin/Desktop/18f/ -c 18f.c
    + "/usr/bin/sdcpp" -nostdinc -Wall -std=c99 -I"/home/ashwin/Desktop/18f/" -Dpic18f2550 -D__18f2550 -DSTACK_MODEL_SMALL -obj-ext=.o -DSDCC_MODEL_SMALL -DSDCC=270 -DSDCC_pic16 -D__pic16 -I"/usr/bin/../share/sdcc/include/pic16" -I"/usr/share/sdcc/include/pic16" -I"/home/ashwin/Desktop/18f/"  "18f.c"
    + "/usr/bin/gpasm" -DSDCC_MODEL_SMALL -Dpic18f2550 -D__18F2550 -DSTACK_MODEL_SMALL -g -c "18f.asm" -o "18f.o"
    gpasm -c -I/home/ashwin/Desktop/18f/ -w0 18f.asm
    18f.asm:10: warning: directive ignored when debug info is disabled
    18f.asm:277: warning: directive ignored when debug info is disabled
    18f.asm:280: warning: directive ignored when debug info is disabled
    sdcc -mpic16 -p18f2550 -V --debug -Wl-c -Wl-m -I/home/ashwin/Desktop/18f/ -o18f.hex 18f.o
    using default linker script "/usr/share/gputils/lkr/18f2550.lkr"
    missing definition for symbol "_delay10tcy", required by "18f.o"
    missing definition for symbol "_adc_conv", required by "18f.o"

+ "/usr/bin/gplink" -I"/usr/bin/../share/sdcc/lib/pic16" -I"/usr/share/sdcc/lib/pic16"  -c -m  -w -r -o 18f.hex  18f.o  crt0i.o pic18f2550.lib libsdcc.lib

*** Exited with status: 1 ***

There are two main things which I did not understand:

1. warning: directive ignored when debug info is disabled - Why do I get this warning?