Compiled Code Different for No Reason

wdolson1
2011-04-04
2013-03-12
  • wdolson1
    wdolson1
    2011-04-04

I am using SDCC to compile code for the Cypress FX2 (8051 code set).  I have been using it for several months without problems.  The other day I made a couple of small changes, recompiled and the firmware no longer worked properly.  I reverted all the code and makefile to a backup known to work and when I compiled that, the .hex file is now different between the two versions.

I am compiling under Windows XP with the following environment variables set for SDCC:

SDCCLIB_AS as80511 -los
    SDCCLIB_CC sdcc -c
    Path = E:\Program Files\SDCC\bin

The two SDCCLIB environment variables above are called out in the make file.  The original project was a port from the Keil compiler I found on someone's blog about how to use the SDCC compiler for the FX2.  All of Cypress's examples are for the Keil compiler.

I made no changes to any configuration files since the last good build.  I have rolled back all source and all make related files to those from the known working backup.  I reinstalled the latest released version of SDCC (3.0).  The differences between the known working .hex and the one currently being built is consistent with the most recent code and the back up as well as before and after SDCC reinstall.

Three lines at line 301-303 are different and only handful of bytes on those lines.

Has anybody ever seen anything like this and how do I fix it?

Thanks,
    Bill

• Do you have a copy of the last good hex file? Have you compared (or better yet - do a diff) between the one that works and the one that doesn't?
    If you have copies of the last good asm and/or object files, you can do the same - do a diff and describe what the differences are.
    If you revert back to a previous version of SDCC does everything work as expected?

One other thought, split up the compiling, assembly, and linking stages…
    SDCC <your flags> -S myCode.c