Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

SDCC Tutorial

Pericles
2007-10-24
2013-03-12
  • Pericles
    Pericles
    2007-10-24

Dear all,

I am new to the embedded world and I would like to start learning how to program embedded systems.

I know how to program in C and would like to work with SDCC. I own a a book that teaches embedded programming but it does so using Keil. I would like to work in a linux environment so I chose to look at SDCC.

Unfortunately after a lot of searching on the net I have not found any tutorial of how to use SDCC or some examples that will get me on my way.

If no tutorial is available then maybe something that will help me translate the Keil code in the book to something that SDCC understands.

I would appreciate any help.

Thanks,

Pericles

• Maarten Brock
      Maarten Brock
      2007-10-25

Hello Pericles,

I suspect the Keil book to teach about their IDE (uVision) to get you started compiling your first example. For SDCC this is explained in the manual (sdccman 3.1 compiling). SDCC has only a command line interface, but it is supported by some IDE's.

After that there will be many similarities between the compilers and useful examples, but their will still be some differences esp. concerning non-standard special keywords.

Do you have an evaluation board and if so does it have In-System-Debugging capabilities?

Maarten

• Pericles
      Pericles
      2007-10-25

I do not (yet) have an evaluation board (and this is something that I would be interested in learning more about what are compatible with SDCC) but I would like to learn first using a simulator such as what Keil does.