Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

Porting IAR code to SDCC

boze
2007-12-16
2013-03-12
  • boze
    boze
    2007-12-16

Hi folks,

I'm new to SDCC. I'm trying to port the TI app code for the CC1111 written with IAR.

1. Does anybody knows how to implement in SDCC the IAR pragma directive:

#pragma bitfields=reversed
    #pragma bitfields=default

From the IAR manual:

Reverses order of storage of bitfields.
    SYNTAX
    DESCRIPTION
    Causes the compiler to allocate bitfields starting at the most significant
    bit of the field, instead of at the least significant bit. The ANSI standard
    allows the storage order to be implementation dependent, so you can
    use this keyword to avoid portability problems.

2. Does anybody have some general guidelines, gotcha's for porting code from IAR to SDCC?

I would appreciate any help,
    Thanks
    Zoltan

• Maarten Brock
      Maarten Brock
      2007-12-16

SDCC does not support the option to set the order of bitfields. Another gotcha might be the endianness.

• boze
      boze
      2007-12-17

Thanks Maarten,
      I've checked, both SDCC and IAR store numbers in little endian format.
      Going back to the #pragma bitfields=reversed issue. I'm looking into how to implement this functionality.
      Example
      typedef struct {
         BYTE SRCADDRH;
         BYTE SRCADDRL;
         BYTE DESTADDRH;
         BYTE DESTADDRL;
         BYTE VLEN      : 3;
         BYTE LENH      : 5;
         BYTE LENL      : 8;
         BYTE WORDSIZE  : 1;
         BYTE TMODE     : 2;
         BYTE TRIG      : 5;
         BYTE SRCINC    : 2;
         BYTE DESTINC   : 2;
         BYTE IRQMASK   : 1;
         BYTE M8        : 1;
         BYTE PRIORITY  : 2;
      } DMA_DESC;
      #pragma bitfields=default