encrypt not honored for sync?

2008-03-18
2013-02-19
  • My testing shows that 's3cmd --encrypt sync mydir s3://mybucket does not encrypt the sync'd files.  Is this a bug, or was s3cmd purposely implemented this way?  If so, why?

• dsbcpas
      dsbcpas
      2008-03-19

My understanding is that you are correct. 

Encrypt is reported as NOT an available function within sync because sync uses md5sum signature comparison which is evidently available at S3 upload sites for comparison. Hence, until someone (may be you?) writes a patch to place an encryption filter in front of sync's md5sum computation, you would have to encrypt local data then upload for md5sum signatures to match. 

I haven't looked at the code to confirm where the S3 located md5sum data is derived, however from the developer's comments elsewhere I am lead to believe that the md5sum signature is not upload by s3cmd. (If it where, that would not ensure data integrity.)

That said, keep in mind I am just a sys admin using this cool tool!
      Scott

• I've looked at the code, and it seems quite possible to generate the md5sum for the encrypted object which could then be compared with what was stored on S3.  The down-side of the most obvious patch is that it would introduce considerable CPU overhead when sync'ing encrypted object because during the "verifying checksums..." stage, s3cmd would have to encrypt each file before computing the md5sum that would be compared to what is stored in ETag for the object in S3

A better approach would be to store the plain-text md5sum in S3 metadata:

1) md5 - The md5sum of the the object available as ETag (regardless of whether it is encrypted or plain text)
         2) md5plaintext - The md5sum of the plain text object stored as S3 metadata

When encryption is turned off, the etag "md5" and S3 metadata "md5plaintext" would be the same value.  However when encryption is turned on, the Etag "md5" would not be the same as "md5plaintext".