Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

RSSOwl & del.icio.us integration

Developers
2008-02-26
2012-08-29
  • Ondřej Forejt
    Ondřej Forejt
    2008-02-26

Sorry I'm late

I've been clicking RSSOwl and del.icio.us for last three week and here is my thoughts, how this integration could work.

Since this is kind a special upgrade (not every person needs it) and there is a extension centre in owl, It would be good thing to make it as a another extension. I have never done module before, that would be great experience!

How it might look:

On the right side of toolbar there will be new object – a del.icio.us icon. When this icon is clicked, login window pops up, asking for username and password and then verify it. (to make it look good, icon could be black and white only when the user is of, colorfull when on).

Ok, we are logged on.
    In the bookmark pane, there will new tab called del.icio.us (Just to be 100% sure – these eclipse panes support tabs, don't they?). with two two default directories - Your tags and your network (== your favorites del.icio.us users)

It could support at least these features
    - Clicking on tag makes stuff label with it visible in main pane
    - advanced queries can be ask to. I'm not sure how to use it so far - first idea is when some key (ctrl?) is held, right click on tag will include it, left click will exlude it from searching

• same thing you can do with users in network (get theirs tags, theirs own network, etc.)
    • you can administrate your account (add and delete posts, tags, users, etc)
    • for a user, who is in your network, you can add a new feed to bookmarks pane to inform you if content of his account changed.