Python interface for librioutil

• Emmanuel

I'm working on a Python interface for librioutil. I've never done anything like this before, but it's coming along. I started doing this because I wanted to code a GUI using python/gtk2/glade. At first, I used the rioutil binary and parsed the output, but then I decided to try this exiting method. Basically it consists of a C Python extension module. All you do is load it and assuming permissions in /proc/bus/usb are adequate, you can run the functions in librioutil. All I've got so far is the open_rio() and it's not done yet because I'm still finishing up the data structures (rios_t, etc). Here's some example code of usage:

#!/usr/bin/env python
    from librioutil import *
    import types
    def print_dic(dic):
            for key in dic:
                    if type(dic[key]) is types.DictType:
                            print key, "[]"
                            print key, "=", dic[key]
    rios_t = open_rio(0, 0, 1);

The output looks like this:
    info []

treble = 7
    version = 1.55999994278
    playlist = 0
    bass = 7
    eq_state = 2
    repeat_state = 0
    sleep_time = 1
    volume = 2
    random_state = 0
    total_memory_units = 1
    memory []

total_time = 4627
    num_files = 19
    name = Internal Flash Memory
    free = 294912
    size = 67108864

light_state = 3
    contrast = 4
    name = Rio 600

debug = 0
    abort = 0
    lock = 0

I think Id rather do this and have somene else write the actual GUI. What do you think?

• Emmanuel