Using putenv

2010-02-17
2013-05-14
  • Duke Normandin
    Duke Normandin
    2010-02-17

I'm new to Rexx!

Learning the language in context of CGI.

After reading the latest pdf docs , am I to understand that `putenv' _cannot_ create new env_vars. It can
    only set an existing one to something else - including an empty string?

I ask because I'm having trouble with this code:

putenv('EDITOR=pico')

ed=getenv('EDITOR')
    say 'Your default editor is now : ' ed

However, instead of setting $EDITOR = pico, it launches the current $EDITOR.

dnormandin@ ~
    06:38 pm >> rexx -v
    REXX-Regina_3.5 5.00 31 Dec 2009

on OS X 10.5.8

• Mark Hessling
    Mark Hessling
    2010-02-18

The putenv BIF like the more portable VALUE BIF can create new environment variables or change existing environment variables in the CURRENT process. What you are trying to do is to set an environment variable in the PARENT process.
    example:

Running a shell (process 55)
    ./rexx mysetenv
      This starts a new process as a child of the shell, say process 66
      Call Value 'EDITOR', 'pico', 'ENVIRONMENT'
      Process 66 now has an environment variable of EDITOR=pico
      Exit the running rexx process (process 66 dies)
    You are back to process 55 and the child has died taking its environment with it
    Process 55 EDITOR environment variable is unchanged.

Now if you try this with running another shell from process 55, you will get exactly the same behaviour.  If you try it with any other scripting language you will get exactly the same behaviour.

The only way you can get a Rexx program to change your CURRENT process' environment is if the Rexx program runs as part of the CURRENT process. AFAIK the only option is to use zsh as your shell and install the zregina-zsh-module (from Regina SourceForge Downloads). TBH I haven't checked if that still works with the latest zsh or the latest Regina.

Cheers, Mark

• Duke Normandin
    Duke Normandin
    2010-02-19