Install Problem: 1044 & failed to open stream

Help
Pat Gehrke
2008-11-28
2013-05-28
  • Pat Gehrke
    Pat Gehrke
    2008-11-28

First, my great thanks for this project.  It is exactly what our nonprofit organization has been looking for and I am hoping I can get it working as a part of our new website.

We are trying to install refbase on www.commethics.org/refbase/ but I have to confess that I am not very experienced with this kind of thing and I have no tech support in our organization, so I am hoping you all can help me get this running.

This is hosted through LunarPages running php 5.2.6 and mysql 5.0.51a -- full details on our php settings are at http://www.commethics.org/refbase/phptest.php

Using the install.php with the master account & pw I receive the following error:
    Error 1044 : Access denied for user '********'@'localhost' to database 'mysql'  (I have replaced our actual root account in that line with asterisks)

So I tried a manual install via the mysql management program for my host. 

It looked like it worked but the main page (index.php) pulls the following errors:

Warning: require_once(/home/ginas5/public_html/commethics/refbase/includes/classes/org/active-link/xml/XML.php) [function.require-once]: failed to open stream: No such file or directory in /home/ginas5/public_html/commethics/refbase/includes/classes/include.php on line 36

Fatal error: require_once() [function.require]: Failed opening required '/home/ginas5/public_html/commethics/refbase/includes/classes/org/active-link/xml/XML.php' (include_path='.:/usr/local/php5/lib/php') in /home/ginas5/public_html/commethics/refbase/includes/classes/include.php on line 36

I can add and manage users no problem.  I can also pull up the screen to add an entry and all the fields are in place and look right, but once I fill it all in and click "Save Record" I get the same errors: