Groups in Refbase

Help
2010-05-11
2013-05-28
  • Greetings,

I'm a newbie Refbase world. My institute wants to manage the literature that its members produce and I have proposed Refbase as a way to do it. One of the problems that we have is that we want to categorize the articles in different (public) groups, according to the different research areas of our institute. I have read some work in progress of other people with this goal. Since the current groups seem to be personal groups, I believe that they don't really help to categorize our publications.

But there is a thing that at the moment I'm not able to see its current utility. If you login refbase with the administrative account, you can "Manage Users", and there you can select some users and add them to groups. When I saw this feature, I though that I could do some groups to share group-based literature. Users are members of groups and the can see / add / remove articles to their groups. Then I noticed that you cannot see group membership and finally I saw that you cannot  see / add / remove articles to user groups. I haven't found a single page other than "Manage Users" which uses the user groups. So my question is, for what  are they intended to?

Any advice is always welcome,
    Carlos

• Florian
    Florian
    2010-05-11

Do I understand you correctly, that you want to have the articles in those groups only visible to designated members?
    If not, i.e. if all articles in the refbase database are visible to all users, then I dont really see the problem, since all articles can be sorted in any way you like in refbase. In other words, every member of the workgroup "Drosophila" can make his/her own private group called "Drosophila" - still everyone is being notified about the same articles that are being uploaded…