Excel csv to mod xml then 2 refbase possible?

Help
vidhi
2011-11-29
2013-05-28
  • vidhi
    vidhi
    2011-11-29

Hello. I am new to refbase and recently have been working around to get some of my library records in excel csv format imported to refbase.

While I have already noticed that there is no csv import option (correct me if wrong), I am trying to convert the csv file to mods xml using the example from here: www.refbase.net/index.php/Import_Example:_MODS_XML

But I am failing to import records from my csv sheet. I get an error stating that the maps relationship with an element cannot be preserved. Is it possible for anyone to give me a xml map of elements required for the import in refbase?

Or, is there any other work around to this? Would be greatful for any kind of help.

Vids

• Hi Vids,

it's true that the public refbase source code doesn't contain any support for generic import of CSV files. However, I've once written a 'tabdelimToRis()' function which converts records from a custom tab-delimited text format to RIS format which could then be imported via function 'risToRefbase()'. The 'tabdelimToRis()' function did only work with a single custom tab-delimited text format, thus it was never published (since a generic CSV import option would have required way more work).

The custom tab-delimited data format did only support these fields/columns:

authors
    year
    title
    source
    species
    keywords
    notes
    ID
    callnumber
    read

where 'source' did only support books and journal articles, and the 'species' & 'keywords' columns were merged into refbase keywords. The 'ID' and 'callnumber' columns were merged and mapped to the RIS 'ID' field (which gets written to the refbase 'call_number' field). The 'read' column was added to refbase's user-specific 'user_notes' field.

Example tab-delimited data supported by this function:

authors year    title   source  species keywords    notes   ID  callnumber  read