Simplification

Help
mi9p8
2010-06-29
2012-11-20
  • mi9p8
    mi9p8
    2010-06-29

Hello, I am new to redlog/reduce system. I have a question about simplification.

I input a mathematically identical statement in two different representations as shown below. Obviously the Output2 is redundant. How do I get the redundancy removed? rlsimpl or other simplification functions did not work.

Statement: For all (x,y), if a point (x,y) is in a (a*b) rectangular area, that point is in a circle of radius, r.

Input1: rlqe(all({x,y}, x^2 < a^2 and y^2 < b^2 impl x^2 + y^2 < r^2), {a>0, b>0, r>0});
    Output1: a^2+b^2-r^2 <= 0

Input2: rlqe(all({x,y}, -a < x and x < a and -b < y and y < b impl x^2 + y^2 < r^2), {a>0, b>0, r>0});
    Output2: a^2+b^2-r^2 <= 0  and  (a+r <= 0 or a-r <= 0)  and  (a^2+b^2-r^2 < 0  or  b^2-r^2 > 0 or (b+r <> 0 and b-r <> 0))

Another example:

Input3: rlsimpl(x^2 < a^2 and (-a < x and x < a), {a < 0});
    Output3: a^2  - x^2 > 0 and a+x>0  and a-x > 0

This Input3 did not work as I expected. I tried Groebner and Tableau as well with the same result. I expected my output to be either "a^2  - x^2 > 0" alone  or  "a+x>0  and a-x > 0". Apparently I was wrong. Am I misunderstanding something?

Thanks.

• Thomas Sturm
    Thomas Sturm
    2010-07-07

Simplification is heuristic and does not provide any canonical or minimal forms. There is a trade-off between quality and efficiency so that the used methods should be general, efficient, and applicable to general input with high probability.

Some details can be found here:

Simplification of quantifier-free formulae over ordered fields. Journal of Symbolic Computation, 24(2):209-231, August 1997.

Note that for small formulas with few variables, rlcad also yields good simplification in some cases. It does not work for your example though.

Thomas

• mi9p8
    mi9p8
    2010-07-07

Thomas,
    Thank you for your reply. I am going to read the paper.

I have another question.