Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Rakarrack Does Not Start

Help
2011-02-07
2013-05-28
  • George Sprague
    George Sprague
    2011-02-07

Hi all.  I'm a complete newb.  I'm running Ubuntu Studio 10.4 on an AMD machine with a 30GB hard drive and 2GB of RAM.  Qjackctl is started and all other programs (ZXsub, Ardour, Hydrogen, etc) all work.  My working soundcard is a USB interface, a Alesis MultiMix 4 (I'm not using the onboard audio card or the installed PCI Audigy card).  I open Jack Control, start it and then click to start Rakarrack.  The program never starts.  I'm fairly sure that all dependencies are installed.  Is there something I'm missing??

George

• Josep Andreu
    Josep Andreu
    2011-02-07

Hi

Please … run rakarrack on a xterm … and tell me the error message.

Josep

• George Sprague
    George Sprague
    2011-02-07

Hi Josep,

Here is the output… not running Jack Control at this time.

jackd 0.118.0
    Copyright 2001-2009 Paul Davis, Stephane Letz, Jack O'Quinn, Torben Hohn and others.
    jackd comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY
    This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
    under certain conditions; see the file COPYING for details

Memory locking is unlimited - this is dangerous. You should probably alter the line:
         @audio   -  memlock    unlimited
    in your /etc/limits.conf to read:
         @audio   -  memlock    1546269
    no message buffer overruns
    JACK compiled with System V SHM support.
    loading driver ..
    apparent rate = 48000
    creating alsa driver … hw:1|hw:0|1024|3|48000|0|0|nomon|swmeter|-|32bit
    control device hw:1
    Illegal instruction
    accessdenied2@Waterwalk:~$ configuring for 48000Hz, period = 1024 frames (21.3 ms), buffer = 3 periods
    ALSA: final selected sample format for capture: 16bit little-endian
    ALSA: got smaller periods 2 than 3 for capture
    ALSA: cannot configure capture channel