Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Bank settings

Anonymous
2012-02-21
2013-05-28

• Anonymous
    2012-02-21

Hello all, I am a newbie en rakarrack, and I would like to know from where can I learn how to tune rakarrack in order to sound "similar" to a distortion I like, for example lake Dave Mustaine, Kirk Hammet,  or something like that, can anybody point me in the right direction.

Thanks

• Transmogrifox
    Transmogrifox
    2012-02-25

I will give you some tips, although I don't think there is anywhere these things are explained specifically for rakarrack.

Something to keep in mind is much of Rakarrack was ported form ZynAddSubFX synthesizer.  The Distortion and Overdrive effects are not really like a "distortion" or "overdrive" like a stompbox pedal.  They are waveshapers.

Knowing that, you can come to see them as building blocks that you use with other FX (specifically EQ) to get sounds.

Here is the basic structure of a distortion pedal, as designed in a stompbox for guitar:

Low Cut -> Amplify -> Distort (waveshaper)-> Recover lows, tame highs -> Tone Control

For an OD sound like, say, a Tubescreamer, you boost the highs at about 700Hz, distort, then pull down the highs with a 700Hz low pass filter, then apply a tone control.

For tube amps, generally there are 3 stages of amplification (and distortion), boosting the highs in each stage at around 200Hz-500Hz.  Then the highs are tamed and low end recovered at the end of it.

Using Rakarrack the basic building blocks of a distortion pedal are this:

EQ->Overdrive (and/or Distortion, Valve, Derelict) ->Parametric EQ -> Then maybe you want to use Convolotron to emulate an amplifier speaker cabinet.

Read the Help (F1).  Each of the FX has some description and use for each effect module in Rakarrack.

Finally, here is a sequence of FX that I think produces some decent results, in terms of flexibility for different tones: