Compressor Code

2009-08-31
2013-05-28
  • Transmogrifox
    Transmogrifox
    2009-08-31

I have not been entirely happy with the way the compressor behaves...just seems something "not right" happens when the signal gets above the threshold. 

I took a look through Compressor.C (and Compressor.h, global.h) and now see something that doesn't settle well in my bones regarding the code. I am an electrical engineer, so I know mathematically should be happening, but  I'm not an experienced programmer, so somebody with knowledge please explain  if I am reading this wrong.  See in-line comments of mine:

for (i = 0; i < PERIOD; i++)
        {

float delta = fmaxf (fabsf (efxoutl[i]), fabsf (efxoutr[i])) - volume;

if (delta > 0.0)
        volume += att * delta;
          else
        volume += rel * delta;

if (volume <= knee_min)
        {
          gain = output;
             // This settles well with me,  "output" appears to be the un-compressed gain.

}
          else if (volume < knee_max)
        {
    /*Here's something that does not look right.  We should be multiplying "output" by a number less than 1 that depends on thresh, ratio, and volume.  The only way this could seem ok is if compress() returns a value less than 0, so that gain is decreased.  Even that would take more complexity than what compress() seems to be doing.  Playing around with FreeMat, this type of algorithm returned undesirable results.*/
          gain =
            output +
            ((volume - knee_min) * compress () / (knee_max - knee_min));
        }
          else
        {
            //Again, this does something strange.  We should be multiplying compress() * output.
          gain = compress () + output;
        }

//Apart from the apparent error, this block of code is very elegant.
          float gain_t = .4 * gain + .6 * gain_old;

efxoutl[i] *= gain_t;
          efxoutr[i] *= gain_t;
          gain_old = gain;

}

}

float
    Compressor::compress ()
    {