Organ effects rack

2011-03-16
2013-05-28
  • Austin Leeds
    Austin Leeds
    2011-03-16

I've been using Rakarrack for several months now for my old tube-based Conn organ, and I've got to say, it's really amazing. I can pull off anything from a pipe organ to an overdriven "the beast" sound with Rakarrack, and I'm sure this is only the beginning of my learning with it.

There are a few features I'd like to request, however:
    Slow attack (to augment the swell pedal)
    Multiple octave Octavator (to take an 8' stop down to a 16', 32' or even 64', or to raise an 8' to 4', 2', or 1')
    Portamento (just because I have an organ doesn't mean I don't feel like making it sound like a theremin some days ^_^)
    Oscilloscope (would be great to see how the effects are changing the wave)

If there's any way an effect could be made that fundamentally changes a tone (for instance, from a sine wave to a square wave), that would be awesome too!

Keep up the great work,
    Austin

• Transmogrifox
    Transmogrifox
    2011-03-16

There is a scope as a sort of easter egg.  Click around near the top of the tuner, you'll find the scope.  There's also a spectrum analyzer hidden in there too.

Slow attack can be accomplished with the Expander.  Set the attack time long, release short (typically short release is what you want).  I admit it is more of a side effect, and it is no substitute for a good triggered ADSR - I will probably add the ADSR at some point now that I have a descent beat detector working in the development repository.

Portamento - Look at the Shifter effect in version 0.6.1 (I think it is also in 0.5.8).  Anyway, it's a triggered pitch bend.  Eventually we plan to add the reverse mode where it starts at the shifted pitch and seeks the real pitch more true to the portamento - it's a real quick and easy thing, so what your asking is not hard to do.