Missing Files?

2012-03-28
2012-12-05
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • I just downloaded and compiled v1.0 (Gentoo Linux, Intel Core2 64-bit processor), and I started the game.  While it played the intro quite beautifully, after Carter Walcrite's newscast, when I clicked continue, the program terminated with the following error:

raceintospace: gx.c:46: gxGetImage: Assertion `0 <= x1 && x1 < 320' failed.
    Aborted

Does anyone have any suggestions?

• I tried it again while starting a game as a Soviet instead of as an American, and I got the following error:

raceintospace: gx.c:47: gxGetImage: Assertion `0 <= y0 && y0 < 200' failed.
    Aborted

Finally, I tried to view the credits but I only got a blank screen.  If I'm missing files, from where can I get them?  I don't see any files packages anywhere…

• Leon Baradat
    Leon Baradat
    2012-03-28

Uh oh!  Unfortunately I'm not a programmer, so that error doesn't tell me much.  gx.c is in the race folder, which goes to the root of your RIS folder, and can be found in the repository (http://raceintospace.cvs.sourceforge.net/viewvc/raceintospace/race/).  Not surprisingly, it looks to be part of a routine where an image is selected or something.  I'm not sure what's going on in that page, but-since you're a Gentoo user-you may have better programming chops than I do.  If you know anything about C you might be able to make something of it.  The code section (with line numbers) is below.

39  gxGetImage (GXHEADER *hp, int x0, int y0, int x1, int y1, int op)
    40  {
    41  int w, h, from_idx, to_idx, row;
    43  assert(op == 0);
    44  assert(hp);
    45  assert(0 <= x0 && x0 < MAX_X);
    46  assert(0 <= x1 && x1 < MAX_X);
    47  assert(0 <= y0 && y0 < MAX_Y);
    48  assert(0 <= y1 && y1 < MAX_Y);
    49  assert(x0 <= x1);
    50  assert(y0 <= y0);