Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

qucs battery component simulation

Help
Anonymous
2012-10-06
2012-12-15

• Anonymous
    2012-10-06

Hi all I'm a newbie of qucs. I'm trying to make a circuit simulation with a AA 1,5 battery. How can I add a battery component or create it? I have only current and voltage source. How can I simulate a 1,5V AA battery? tnx

•  magneto98
    magneto98
    2012-10-06

Batteries are quite good voltage sources. If you want to be more accurate you could add a resistor in series representing the internal resistance which depends on things like  battery type / aging / temperature and is probably about 0.3 to 0.1 Ohms

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internal_resistance

Cheers
    Carsten

• Anonymous
    2012-10-06

tnx, but if I have a voltage source of 1.5V and 500mAh can I use an internal resistance of 3 Ohm? It seem work it give me an output of 0,5A

• @magneto98:
    Creating a true model for a battery is very difficult.  It is no simple task modeling the intricacies of the electrolyte with electrical circuits.  For example, Lithium batteries have a curve that is non-linear (http://johndayautomotivelectronics.com/?p=517) like the one in this link. Batteries have a complicated models where by the series resistance is more of a dynamic resistance which will change as a function of temperature and load current.