Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

retrieving which choice has been filled in in xml document?

Help
2013-09-05
2013-09-06
  • Paul Fennema
    Paul Fennema
    2013-09-05

Goodmorning,

I am new to pyXB and the format please accept my apologies if I ask a 'stupid' question, but here goes:
    When I have a xml document which containts a 'choice' I'd like to know in my corresponding python object which is actually filled in, the python object is filled in by means of:

xmlObject = xmlObject.CreateFromDocument(file('XML_Example.xml').read() )

And the xml document contains this choice:

<xs:element name="reportingOperations">
    <xs:complexType>
    <xs:choice maxOccurs="unbounded">
      <xs:element name="reportingOperation" type="reportingOperation" />
      <xs:element name="reportingFullTermination" type="reportingFullTermination" />
                <xs:element name="reportingTradeTermination" type="reportingTradeTermination" />
                <xs:element name="reportingBackloading" type="reportingBackloading" />
                <xs:element name="reportingModification" type="reportingModification" />
                <xs:element name="reportingValuationUpdate" type="reportingValuationUpdate" />
                <xs:element name="reportingCollateralUpdate" type="reportingCollateralUpdate" />
            </xs:choice>
        </xs:complexType>
    </xs:element>

What I'd like know how to check which choice of reportingOperations is actually filled in, something like:

if xmlObject.reportingOperations == reportingOperation:
        # Do something with the variables filled in when it is a reportingOperation
    else if xmlObject.reportingOperations == reportingFullTermination:
        # Do something with the variables filled in when it is a reportingFullTermination
    else if ...

How can I check this?

Thanks Paul

• Peter A. Bigot
    Peter A. Bigot
    2013-09-05