Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Unicode support and a Q about newlines

2006-03-30
2013-05-14
  • I'm trying to implement a partial parse of C# and in looking through the C# grammer a lot of tokens are defined in unicode terms.  For instance, instead of specifying identifiers as being made up of alphanum + "_".  It is defined as being made up of unicode characters of classes Lu, Ll, Lt, Lm, Lo, or Nl.  In looking at the source code that I have, I can probably ignore the issue but I have no experience with unicode so I'm wondering if that is going to bite me later.  The tool I'm writing will be used by folks all over the world.  Does pyparsing have any support for unicode?

Also, I'm wondering what pyparsing accepts as valid newline tokens.  Is '\n' sufficient?  At some time or another I've used any one of ['\n', '\r', '\n\r', '\r\n'].  Subversion seems to do funny things with adding the '\r' and I'm pulling the C# code directly from svn.

BTW, pyparsing is great.  Thanks.

• Paul McGuire
      Paul McGuire
      2006-03-30

Larry -

Pyparsing includes *some* Unicode support, but I'm sure there is room for improvement.  In late 2004, Gavin Panella sent me some updates to pyparsing to add better Unicode behavior, but I have not done much to overtly add Unicode-specific features.  There are also a couple of example programs that have been sent in, which I include in the pyparsing examples directory, so they may be of some help to you.

I'm am not very Unicode-savvy, so your description of "classes Lu, Ll, Lt, etc." doesn't really mean much.  If these translate into character sequences, perhaps you could use pyparsing's srange() to define these as standard classes, similar to what is already done for alphas, nums, alphas8bit, etc., and I'd be happy to include these as part of the standard set of helper strings.