question regarding code completion...

2006-04-27
2013-03-15
  • I'm new to pydev & could use some help with getting the object introspection to work with imported java objects in a jython project.

So far I've
    1)put my java library development 'bin' area as a source file in the project's python path
    2)referenced my java project in the jython project's preferences

code completion works great on import statements, such as:

from com.bitaplus.CurveAnalytics import *

but when I initialize an object from the imported java library, I can't get the methods to appear on typing a '.' ...

Am I missing something?

Running the script accesses the object fine & I get the expected result.

Many thanks,

daniel.

• Fabio Zadrozny
      Fabio Zadrozny
      2006-04-27

Ok, let's see some simple example...

If you do:

from java.lang import String
      String. | <-- do you get the completions here or not?

Did you configure your project to be a jython project?

Have you checked the getting started guide to see if you configured your your project and pythonpath correctly? -- http://www.fabioz.com/pydev/manual.html

Cheers,

Fabio

• Thanks for the quick response Fabio.

I followed the instructions on the manual as best I could.

The project IS a jython project

I can't get code completeion to work on the simple example either.

I tried

String.

without success.
      I also tried:

foo = String()
      foo.
      without success

Thanks again,

daniel

• Fabio Zadrozny
        Fabio Zadrozny
        2006-04-27

Do you have some error in your error log?

• Thanks Fabio.

Progress.

I checked the error & it turns out I didn't have a python interpreter installed in the system preferences. I had specified a Jython.jar file for the Jython Interpreter because since It's a jython project I didn't think i needed a python interpreter... obviously i did.

Now the simple case works with java.lang.String