New simple PIWIK tracker plugin

Developers
2014-02-27
2014-05-19
  • Pierre Cadéot
    Pierre Cadéot
    2014-02-27

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt on improving the Piwik plugin, done by Cyril Kabache.

But as for now, to avoid confusion, I called it "NicePiwik plugin" and it analyzes traffic on your posh site's tabs.

The probe tracks tabs use and "username/tabname" is used to identify them (=name for the tracked pages).

You'll just have to specify (in admin/plugin config) your piwik server url (only http supported as for now) and site id that can be found into your Piwik tracking code, {$PIWIK_URL} would be replaced by your Piwik URL and {$IDSITE} would be replaced by the idsite of the website you are tracking in Piwik :

<!-- Piwik -->
    <script type="text/javascript">
      var _paq = _paq || [];
      _paq.push(["trackPageView"]);
      _paq.push(["enableLinkTracking"]);

(function() {
        var u=(("https:" == document.location.protocol) ? "https" : "http") + "://***{$PIWIK_SERVER_URL}***/";
        _paq.push(["setTrackerUrl", u+"piwik.php"]);
        _paq.push(["setSiteId", "***{$PIWIK_SITE_ID}***"]);
        var d=document, g=d.createElement("script"), s=d.getElementsByTagName("script")[0]; g.type="text/javascript";
        g.defer=true; g.async=true; g.src=u+"piwik.js"; s.parentNode.insertBefore(g,s);
      })();
    </script>
    <!-- End Piwik Code -->

While open to suggestions I will continue to work on this to further understand what can by tracked and how, and improve the config interface to reflect that.

My raw roadmap says I'll have to work on :
    - (understanding traffic analysis and...)
    - tieing posh user and piwik visitor (without tracking username for full privacy policy)
    - tracking widgets use and notebook events

regards,
    Pierre

• Pierre Cadéot
    Pierre Cadéot
    2014-02-27

Here it is !

Attachments
  • Thanks Pierre, I guess this will be useful for other Posh users. Can we add it to the posh next release ?