Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

plomino form onsave get current field value

Help
J.D.
2011-06-23
2013-04-25
  • J.D.
    J.D.
    2011-06-23

Hello!
    First off im a programmer with LAMP  background and ive been working with plomino for about 7 months, so im sure im not using plomino correctly.

Ive been working on trying to get a simple field lookup, but ive been having alot of issues.
    I have been able to get everything to work except getting a fields value (from another db) on the current form.

So in my form that contains a bunch of fields i have one field that contains a selection list from another DB that has 2 records (lets say ItemName, and ItemDescription).
    When the user saves the form, i need to get the value from the dropdown list (lets say ItemName) and replace it in the script below.

#Here is what i have so far..
    #In the forms onSave event i....
    #First get the db.
    thedb=plominoDocument.restrictedTraverse('ourSite/somefolder/myTests/listOfParts/')
    #then i get the view
    listOfPartsView=thedb.getView('all')
    #once i have the view i can get the views values
    allViewValues=listOfPartsView.getAllDocuments()
    #this is what i need to replace, it should get the value from the selection list in the current form ..
    lookup = 'one of the values"
    #init 
    ItemDescriptionsValue = 0
    #loop for all rows in ListOfParts
    for row in allViewValues:
      #finding the lookup record (ItemName) from listOfParts
      if lookup == row.ItemName:
        #get ItemDescription from listOfParts
        ItemDescriptionsValue = row.ItemDescription
    #set the current form field to the value form ItemDescription (of the other db)
    plominoDocument.setItem('formField2',ItemDescriptionsValue)

I have made formField2 hidden in edit mode… im just trying to make the user not have to enter the description when we have it in another form.