Reviving Pixie

Eibriel
2010-03-24
2013-04-25
1 2 > >> (Page 1 of 2)
  • Eibriel
    Eibriel
    2010-03-24

Hi! I've created this topic to discuss about the future of Pixie.

In first place I think we must offer our help to Okan, sending a message asking to join the Sourceforge project.
    Obviously is much more easy continue the Okan's job and not opening a new project making a Folk.

I think we must continuing sending Bugs and Patches even if no are closed, to future reference. I'm not an exceptional developer, and I've created a section to try to explain and learn about the source code on Wiki: http://www.renderpixie.com/pixiewiki/Documentation/Source_code_in_deep
    Please, if somebody can contribute with it, will be very helpful for less skilled developers.

I've sent a message to Koan requiring  add me to the project team, I'll notify here their decision, or if I have not answer.

Regards!
    Eibriel

• Raphael Sebbe
    Raphael Sebbe
    2010-03-24

I'll second that, I love Pixie ;-), but that'd be great to have a road map and more contributors. There are some missing features I'm interested in (trimmed patches, CSG…), could even try to contribute, but as of its current state, it seems awkward to propose new things (speaking of either feature requests and/or code patches).

Also, newer hosting sites (bitbucket / github) seem to provide a much better environment for collaboration. Okan, would you be interested in moving to one of those?

Cheers,

Raphael

• Cedric PAILLE
    Cedric PAILLE
    2010-03-25

Hi,

Yes, it'll be great to have a SVN/CVS branch with more contributors, I've some new features/ bug fixes to merge into the source code, if Okan agree of course.

I began a ptc filter to compute SSS with the pointcloud technology, and I'd like other contributors look at it to make it better and faster.

I think it should be interesting to include some regression tests too will well written RIBs ans SLs files.

Don't want to see this project die too !