Menu

3.1 GUI unresponsiveness

Alan Young
2005-11-09
2013-04-16
  • Alan Young

Alan Young - 2005-11-09

Since upgrading to 3.1, I have noticed some issues with the GUI being unresponsive and several times all of the widgets disappear and the list window does not redraw.

I've been able to make the interface more responsive by adding calls to wx.Yield() in various places in the code. 
    I'm a programmer, but I'm completely new to python so I'm not sure I'm adding them in the proper places.  However, they have helped as I can usually get the menu bar and tool bar active again by double clicking a torrent and then closing the popup window.  The widgets usually redraw after that and are active for a while.  I can do a diff for these changes, but I think I'm just shooting in the dark as there appears to be mutlple bottlenecks elsewhere.  For example, if there is a torrent checking the existing pieces, it seems to cause the right click pop up not to come up on any other torrent.  Doing the double click, close and then a right click a couple of times seems to make it work.

When the widgets disappear I have noticed it happens after a Xlib error message "Xlib: unexpected async reply".  From the limited searching I have done, this seems to happen if two threads try to use the X window Xlib functions at the same time.  I'm not sure what to do about this one as the few wxpython lists indicate the app needs to be restructured to have the main thread only process GUI events and all the child threads need to send their events to the parent.

• Timothy Tucker

Timothy Tucker - 2005-11-09

Thanks -- it's due to a change that was made in between 3.0 and 3.1 that shouldn't have been made.  I'm reverting it back and the next release should behave a bit better in this regard.

• Timothy Tucker

Timothy Tucker - 2005-11-10

• Alan Young

Alan Young - 2005-11-10

Thanks!  That appears to be much better.