Cannot connect to AIM now that I am in France

Amy
2008-01-09
2013-01-14
  • Amy
    Amy
    2008-01-09

Hi. I have been using Pidgin for several months now. I first downloaded it and began using it in the United States. I am currently in France and I just now tried to log on to Pidgin. Every time I try to connect, though, it just tells me that it could not connect to the server. My internet works perfectly, and it has been working the entire time.

Can anyone tell me what is wrong and how I can fix it? I even tried uninstalling Pidgin and re-downloading and installing it.

• Etan Reisner
      Etan Reisner
      2008-01-09

Have you tried any other AIM clients? Do they work? What exact error are you getting? What does the Debug Window say when you try to connect (Help->Debug Window)? Do you have any firewall software running? Is any of that new?

• Amy
      Amy
      2008-01-10

My MSN messenger works. I'm also using Skype's messenger system.

OK, I opened the Debug Window and then tried to log in again. Here's what it says:

(12:18:37) account: Connecting to account aymiechicka
      (12:18:44) proxy: Connected to login.oscar.aol.com:5190.
      (12:18:44) proxy: Error connecting to login.oscar.aol.com:5190 (Unknown error).
      (12:18:44) proxy: Connection attempt failed: Unknown error
      (12:18:44) oscar: unable to connect FLAP server of type 0x0017
      (12:18:44) account: Disconnecting account 00B7C060
      (12:18:44) connection: Disconnecting connection 01750C88
      (12:18:44) oscar: Destroying oscar connection of type 0x0017.  Disconnect reason is 0
      (12:18:44) oscar: Disconnected.  Code is 0x0000 and msg is
      (12:18:44) oscar: Signed off.
      (12:18:45) connection: Destroying connection 01750C88

I do have firewall software... I think. I mean my computer has Windows Defender, AdAware, Spybot and SpywareBlaster on it.

• Etan Reisner
        Etan Reisner
        2008-01-10