#4157 (ok 4.2.0) Changing users password will delete it

4.0.9
fixed
None
1
2014-05-08
2013-11-20
Spider.007
No

When using the "Change Login Information / Copy User" block to update a users password, since I don't want 2 users with different pwds, I selected 'delete the old one from the user tables.'

This results in a resultpage (list of users) that seems fine. When reloading that page however; the user disappears because it has been deleted!

Related

Bugs: #4157

Discussion

  • ryandev00
    ryandev00
    2013-11-20

    < redacted >

     
    Last edit: ryandev00 2013-11-20
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-11-30

    • assigned_to: Hugues
     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-11-30

    • assigned_to: Hugues --> Marc Delisle
     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-11-30

    Spider,
    if you want to just change the password, you should not use the "Change Login Information / Copy User" dialog but the "Change password" dialog. The steps you did, resulted in deleting the user, because you changed neither the host nor the username part, and asked to delete the "old" user.

    Therefore, this had for result that a DROP USER query was generated. The only bug here, is in the first page refresh that still was displaying the user.

     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-11-30

    • assigned_to: Marc Delisle --> nobody
     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-12-01

    • assigned_to: Hugues
     
    • summary: Changing users password will delete it --> (ok 4.0.10) Changing users password will delete it
    • status: open --> resolved
    • Priority: 3 --> 1
     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2013-12-05

    Hugues,
    this is not resolved for 4.0.10 but for 4.2.0.

     
    • 2013/12/5 Marc Delisle lem9@users.sf.net

      Hugues,
      this is not resolved for 4.0.10 but for 4.2.0.


      Status: resolved
      Created: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:12 AM UTC by Spider.007
      Last Updated: Thu Dec 05, 2013 08:28 AM UTC
      Owner: Hugues

      When using the "Change Login Information / Copy User" block to update a
      users password, since I don't want 2 users with different pwds, I selected
      'delete the old one from the user tables.'

      This results in a resultpage (list of users) that seems fine. When
      reloading that page however; the user disappears because it has been
      deleted!


      Sent from sourceforge.net because you indicated interest in
      https://sourceforge.net/p/phpmyadmin/bugs/4157/

      To unsubscribe from further messages, please visit
      https://sourceforge.net/auth/subscriptions/

      Hi,

      Sorry, I forget that it wasn't merged into QA_4_0 !
      I updated the ticket.

      Thanks,
      Hugues.

       

      Related

      Bugs: #4157

    • summary: (ok 4.0.10) Changing users password will delete it --> (ok 4.2.0) Changing users password will delete it
     
  • Marc Delisle
    Marc Delisle
    2014-05-08

    • status: resolved --> fixed