Chinese Languages

Bin Zhang
  • Bin Zhang
    Bin Zhang

I am new to PGV.  I noticed that Traditional Chinese is there, but I don't see Simplified Chinese.  How would I go about adding Simplified Chinese?  What files do I need to create?

• John Finlay
      John Finlay

You just need to create new lang, configure_help, helpt_text, and facts files in the languages folders for the simplified Chinese and start translating the values in them.

To get the files to show up in the language menus, you need to add an entry for simplified Chinese to the lang_settings_std.php file.

When you start translating the values, you need to use an editor that can save the files in the UTF-8 character set.

• Bin Zhang
      Bin Zhang

Sorry for taking so long to respond... 

Thanks John.  I have been playing with the simplified Chinese for a while.  I don't know if I did right.  The Chinese came with PGV is traditional Chinese.  It uses zh as the language code.  zh should be for all Chinese variations, not just for traditional Chinese characterset...

I was going to change lang_settings_std.php, but stopped by the warning in the file against the editing of the file manually...

This is what I did:

In lang_codes_std.php file,  I added a line:

$lng_codes["zh"]    = array("Chinese", "China");
      $lng_codes["zh-cn"]    = array("Chinese (PRC)", "China");

The first line was there, I added the second line.

Is this the right way to do it?

• Gerry Kroll
      Gerry Kroll

I'm not sure I understand your question.

Do you mean that you require two different versions of the Chinese language files to be available to your users?  If all Chinese users would be satisfied with replacing the existing Traditional Chinese files with the equivalent Simplified Chinese, that shouldn't be a problem.

• Bin Zhang
      Bin Zhang

Thanks, Gerry!