Single Sign on with Joomla?

Help
K M
2009-02-24
2013-05-30
  • K M
    K M
    2009-02-24

What do I have to do to get single sign on to work with Joomla?

If I sign into my Joomla website (not Joomla admin but the website), then I get a blank screen for phpgedview.  If I don't, then  phpgedview works fine but of course I have to sign into phpgedview.

Also - When I sign into phpgedview, if I go to a different page in my Joomla website, then come back, I have to sign into phpgedview again.

I'm new to Joomla as well as phpgedview so I'm sure this is a simple newbie problem.

Thanks!

• kiwi_pgv
      kiwi_pgv
      2009-02-24

You need an additional Joomla component. Go to http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/phpgedview/

• K M
        K M
        2009-02-25

Yes I've already got that installed, but what else do I need to do or set?

• kiwi_pgv
      kiwi_pgv
      2009-02-25

Nothing as far as PGV is concerned. You will need to ask about installation on their forum (at the bottom of the page on the link I gave above). I can't even tell you if it will work at all on PGV 4.2. Given the number of changes 4.2 has, its entirely possible it won't.

• Booma
      Booma
      2009-02-25

I'm using Joomla 1.5.9 with PGV 4.2 and they work well together. I'm using version 1.4 of the gedview joomla component located at http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/phpgedview/frs/?action=FrsReleaseBrowse&frs_package_id=462  Version 1.4.1 is now available.

The only thing I had to do was configure the gedview component and add the Secret key for communication between Joomla and phpGedView to PGV's config file.

• Greg Roach
        Greg Roach
        2009-02-25

Booma - There are a number of security implications with this module.  I would advise against using it.

Out of interest, is your site public?  Do you want to tell me the url and give me permission to "investigate" the security?

• Booma
      Booma
      2009-02-25