Switch to postgres user - password?

Help
Belinda
2008-06-15
2012-08-31
  • Belinda
    Belinda
    2008-06-15

I'm really new to this and am trying to setup an evaluation version of a web Content Management System which uses PostgreSQL (I'm running Leopard on an iMac). I'm following instructions here:
    http://forums.matrix.squiz.net/index.php?showtopic=3459

I've downloaded and installed the postgresqlformac unified installer. Everything seemed to install successfully however (in the above instructions) I get to the part which says "Before you can use any of these postgres commands, you will need to switch to the postgres user by typing, "su - postgres" ".

Using Terminal, each time I try to switch to this user I am prompted for a password. I don't know what this is. I've searched and also tried my user password (I'm an admin), "admin", "postgres", left it blank etc. but I keep getting the same response via Terminal "su: Sorry". Is there a default password?

I'm at a loss at how to proceed. I'm sure it's something really basic I've missed but I don't know what it is. I'd be grateful for any help.

• pjm
      pjm
      2008-06-16

I had the same problem. I had to 'su root' first. Then when you 'su -postgres' it goes right in. This works with the EnterpriseDB version of PG. Let me know if it works...

• Belinda
        Belinda
        2008-06-18

su - root did work but I got the postgres user to work as well by creating the account from within the Pref pane first. Thanks for the advice.

• pjm
          pjm
          2008-06-18

Which Pref pane afre you referring to. EnterpriseDB does not have one...

• Belinda
            Belinda
            2008-06-24

Sorry for delay... I meant to say that after I installed postgresqlformac, I deleted the postgres user account entirely (via Terminal), then via the Mac Preferences > User account panel added (or re-added) a 'postgres' account giving this user administrative rights.