Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

#1050 After restore tree not collapsed

open
Siddharth
None
5
2013-08-30
2012-07-02
Ulrich Boche
No

I have a group expanded and then collapse the tree (clicking on the appropriate icon). If I then minimize PasswordSafe, after restore the tree is again displayed expanded as before the collapse operation. This bug exists far before 3.29. Sorry for being so late to report it. System: Windows 7 x64, PasswordSafe 3.29.

Discussion

  • Siddharth
    Siddharth
    2012-07-25

    I would like to to work on this bug. Please assign this to me.

     
  • Rony Shapiro
    Rony Shapiro
    2012-07-25

    Siddharth - the bug is yours. Note that this is probably related to 3530880.

    Let me know if you need any help.

    Rony

     
  • Bharat
    Bharat
    2012-08-16

    Hi Rony and Siddharth. Is it ok if I also simultaneously try and work on this bug? Looks interesting.

     
  • Rony Shapiro
    Rony Shapiro
    2012-08-16

    Bharat - I have no objection, as long as you're coordinated with Siddharth.

    Rony

     
  • Brittney Smith
    Brittney Smith
    2013-06-10

    I'd like to add a note on behavior that seems very related (if not, say so & I'll look for reports on exact problem or create new report).

    I have checked the option under Display > Initial Tree View > "Same as last saved." That works OK when DB is 1st opened.

    Slight twist on original reported issue:
    ANY time after opening a DB, it opens tree view "as last saved," & I close ALL trees, then open one group to add / edit entries.

    On saving the edited / added entry (w/ ALL other trees still closed), PWS then reopens all trees (view as last saved), AND moves the UI view / focus TO the group that was open, when last saved. Though I specifically closed all of them since opening DB.

    This begins to waste much time (even in full screen), if doing multiple edits that are NOT in a the group that was expanded, when last saved. May constantly jump from bottom of list, to top - back & forth, as I edit.

    Ex: If expanded group when last saved was at top of list (& has many entries), & I'm editing in a group at bottom of list, after every edit, the view goes back to top of list, & reopens the group that was open when DB last saved (if I since closed it).

     
  • Brittney Smith
    Brittney Smith
    2013-08-30

    And yes, once open PWS (now v3.31), if open some folders, then close them - THEN minimize PWS, on restoring it, the previously closed folders are reopened - making navigating the GUI more difficult w/ many folders open.