[39d4d4]: README  Maximize  Restore  History

Download this file

52 lines (35 with data), 1.9 kB

 1
 2
 3
 4
 5
 6
 7
 8
 9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
OProfile provides a low-overhead profiler (operf) capable of both
single-application profiling and system-wide profiling.  There is
also a simple event counting tool (ocount).

You can find some documentation in the doc/ directory.

Please visit the oprofile website at : http://oprofile.sf.net/

oprofile was originally written by John Levon <levon@movementarian.org>
and Philippe Elie <phil.el@wanadoo.fr>.  The operf and ocount
tools were developed by Maynard Johnson <maynardj@us.ibm.com>, who
is the current maintainer.

Dave Jones <davej@suse.de> provided bug fixes and support for
the AMD Athlon, and AMD Hammer families of CPUs. Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com
<Suravee.Suthikulpanit@amd.com> contributed various AMD-related patches,
including Instruction-Based-Sampling support (available only in
pre-1.0 releases).

Bob Montgomery <bobm@fc.hp.com> provided bug fixes, the initial RTC
driver and the initial ia64 driver.

Will Cohen <wcohen@redhat.com> integrated the ia64 driver into the
oprofile release, and contributed bug fixes and several cleanups.

Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com> has contributed patches as well as
his time to support the ARM architecture.

Graydon Hoare <graydon@redhat.com> provided P4 port, bug fixes and cleanups.

Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org> provided the MIPS port.

Other contributors can be seen via 'git log'.

Building
--------

Please read the installation instructions in doc/oprofile.html or
http://oprofile.sourceforge.net/doc/install.html.
Only 2.6 kernels (or later) are supported.

Quick start :

(If using git: ./autogen.sh first. You need automake 1.5 or higher. You
can specify a different version, e.g.
ACLOCAL=aclocal-1.5 AUTOMAKE=automake-1.5 AUTOCONF=autoconf-2.13 AUTOHEADER=autoheader-2.13 ./autogen.sh)

Then run the following commands
	./configure [options]  (use './configure --help' to see options)
	make