Common links in all pages

2010-08-12
2013-02-05
  • Oswald Quek
    Oswald Quek
    2010-08-12

Hi,
    I'm new to openxava and am evaluating it. I want to ask if there is a strategy for making all the pages of the web application to have a common header section of some sort? For example many websites have their logo and common links such as "About", "Products", "Contact" etc in all the pages of their website. How would I do this in openxava? I would know how to do this in JSF / Apache Tomahawk by just including another .jsf/.jsp/.xhtml etc but am not too sure how to do it in openxava.
    Thanks,
    Oswald

• Hi oswaldquek.

For example many websites have their logo and common links such as "About", "Products", "Contact" etc in all the pages of their website. How would I do this in openxava?

Well, you can't (at least easily) , OpenXava modules are portlets, that means that they can be integrated with several portals like Liferay.
    Check: http://www.liferay.com/web/guest/community/wiki/-/wiki/1071674/How+to+install+an+OpenXava+application+on+Liferay
    You'll see that this is a richer and simpler way to accomplish what you are looking for.

Federico

• Oswald Quek
    Oswald Quek
    2010-08-13

Ah, ok. Thanks for the info. I'm very unfamiliar with portlets and portals as the projects i've been on in my company haven't used them before. Looks like I'll have to do more research on these. Thanks again.

• Predrag Cicic
    Predrag Cicic
    2012-01-09

HI,
    I have this problem too.
    I need to create some default JSP header( with menus)  for all modules, without using Portals.
    Do you have some idea how to do this?

Thanks,
    Predrag

• florian_adler
    florian_adler
    2012-01-09

Hi,

When not working with portlet and wanted to use OX as as standalone web app, I was also confronted to this problem.
    I solve it by copying module.jsp into home.jsp and making some adaptations:
    I added under

if (!isPortlet) {
    %>
    </head>