Some information

• Alberto

I'm a chemical engineer. I mainly work on CFD, with some brief experience in code development.
    I think the idea to work on a free code is just great: we all need a free code with available sources in order to fully adapt it to our needs.

Now, some question:

1) Which is the actual development state of the code?

2) What are "next steps" in the code development?

3) What kind of help are you looking for?

• Hello,

Actually, the project is only just starting. So it is very easy for a developper to join the project since there is a lot to be done and all opinions are welcome concerning architecture.
      So as far as the development of the code is concerned, at this point only mesh characteristics are implemented, ie reads an unstructured mesh, calculates all properties of the elements (volumes, surfaces, connectivities), etc...

Next steps will be the implementation of an architecture for equations and boundary conditions, as well as boundary conditions and post-processing architecture.

We are actually looking for developpers which have a good knowledge about C++ and hopefully software architecture.
      But, someone with a numerical background (for matrix solvers, etc...) is also very welcome.

So please feel free to contact us if you need more information.

Sincerely yours,
      OpenFlower admin.

• Alberto

I've quite a good knowledge of C++, even if I never developed such a complex software.

I mostly worked on multiphase CFD calculations of chemical reactors, and I've a good mathematical background.

I'm a bit curious: what kind of architecture for equations and numerical methods would you like to implement? How do you think to manage boundary conditions: I mean, are you thinking to a FLUENT-like approach, or to more flexible B.C.?

P.S. I'm italian, so, in a future I could also translate if needed.