Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

java API how to find a constant?

Help
Claudio
2009-10-14
2013-05-28
  • Claudio
    Claudio
    2009-10-14

hi, I'm new to cyc and I want to use it in a java application. I need to find a constant without knowing exactly its name (hence I want a list of possible constants)
    I mean.. something like the autocompletion implemented here http://sw.opencyc.org/
    I cannot figure out how to do this using the java API, any kind of help would be appreciated :P

• David Baxter
    David Baxter
    2009-10-14

One way is to use one of these SubL functions:

<pre>
    (define-api constant-complete-exact (string &optional (start 0) end)
      "Return a valid constant whose name exactly matches STRING.
    Optionally the START and END character positions can be
    specified, such that the STRING matches characters between the START and
    END range.  If no constant exists, return NIL."
      ((:argument-types
        (string stringp)
        (start fixnump)))
      (ret (kb-constant-complete-exact string start end)))

(define-api constant-complete (prefix &optional case-sensitive? exact-length? (start 0) end)
      "Return all valid constants with PREFIX as a prefix of their name
    When CASE-SENSITIVE? is non-nil, the comparison is done in a case-sensitive fashion.
    When EXACT-LENGTH? is non-nil, the prefix must be the entire string
    specified, such that the PREFIX matches characters between the START and
        (prefix stringp)
        (case-sensitive? booleanp)
        (exact-length? booleanp)
        (start fixnump)))
      (ret (kb-constant-complete prefix case-sensitive? exact-length? start end)))

(define-api constant-apropos (substring &optional case-sensitive? (start 0) end)
      "Return all valid constants with SUBSTRING somewhere in their name