Menu

Single Cell Selection / Excel Style Selection / MouseUp Event

2015-11-28
2015-11-30
  • LazyCodeMonkey

LazyCodeMonkey - 2015-11-28

Hi, I've been using the OLV control for many years now and think it's a great control.

What I need for my next project is the ability to select a range of individual cells in the "details" view. You may be familiar with cell selection in Excel: that's exactly what I'm after, though my cell selection is slightly simpler as it will be a continuous range only.

To implement this I have started by creating a new control that inherets ObjectListView. This control has properties for keeping track of the selection: ColIndex start and end, RowIndex start and end, CurrentCell etc...

I am tracking movement with OnCellOver and want to use OnMouseDown and OnMouseUp to keep track of when the dragging selection begins and ends. When the selection is changed I call BuildList(true) and have code in the CellFormat event to set the background colours of the selected cells. It's not super efficient, but I won't have any more than 500 rows, and a handful of columns, it works well enough.

However, I have run into problems with the OnMouseUp event since this is fired when the mouse button goes down! I did some research on this forum and found Phil's comments about reporting all mouse clicks as right button. That's fine, I defer to Phil completely for the design decisions he made with this control: ListView sucks, and as we all know, it's hard work to polish a turd.

So, can anyone point me in a better direction for achieving what I'm after? Are there other events or methods I can override that will allow me to reliably capture the mouse down and up events? I was thinking of hooking the "Hot Cell" tracking, but don't think that will give me mouse down information, not sure; comments?

Thank you in advance, any assistance is always much appreciated.

PS: Am working with the latest version 2.9.

Last edit: LazyCodeMonkey 2015-11-28
  • Phillip Piper