Work at SourceForge, help us to make it a better place! We have an immediate need for a Support Technician in our San Francisco or Denver office.

Close

OpenBiblio as part of PortableApps

2010-07-01
2013-05-30
  • Greg Donaldson
    Greg Donaldson
    2010-07-01

I would dearly love to test this software, however I am not technical enough to get it set up. Yes I have read the 'Install Instruction(New Systems)' but I am daunted by them.

I have been testing moodle using the 'Portable Apps' version and wondered whether Openbiblio could be set up to run similar to other software. see http://portableapps.com/apps/development/portableapps.com_launcher

is there anyone who could set it up as a PortableApp?

• Joe Hagerty
    Joe Hagerty
    2010-07-07

I could probably hack something together that would run off a thumbdrive.  where is the link for where you downloaded Moodle.  i will copy that.

• Greg Donaldson
    Greg Donaldson
    2010-07-09

Hi and thanks for the offer. The portable version of Moodle (called Poodle) does not seem to be on the PortableApps site any longer. I still have the 57mb file originally downloaded, so this could be emailed to you. It does include Apache and MYsql.

Alternatively I could email just the start up folder for poodle which is about 47kb compressed file which contains the following files
       moodlestart.exe
       moodlestart.ini
       moodlestart.log
       moodlestartENU; moodlestartESP; MoodlestartFRA; moodlestartLOC; moodlestartPTB; moodlestartRUS
       moodle-startup.bat
       moodle-shutdown.bat

The reason I gave the portableapps launcher page was because the 'instructions for new intall' said something like 'get used to starting server and mysql'. The portableapps seems to make a nice GUI interface for nonexperienced people like me.