Menu

Uploading Call Numbers

Help
schalldp
2009-11-19
2013-05-30
  • schalldp

schalldp - 2009-11-19

I'm new to openbiblio. I'm trying to migrate a small library (4500 records) from an SQL database into openbiblio. I can convert the data to MARC using Marcedit, but I'm having trouble uploading the call numbers so they display in openbiblio. I think dewey numbers are typically assigned to the 082 MARC tag, but this does not seem to be where openbiblio is reading them from. When I upload with 082 tags, it shows up in the MARC fields, but not in the "call number" field at the top. How do I upload local call numbers?

• Fred LaPlante

Fred LaPlante - 2009-11-19

I noticed the same thing when writing the original version of LookUp back in days of ver 0.3. Its still today. Local call numbers are not provided for in the MARC schem of things except in those local use only fields. In Openbiblio, the call numbers are a user choice and for now you will have to enter them by hand after the fact unless you write SQL code to copy from your current tables to the OpenBiblio table 'biblio'. You will find 3 call_nmbr  fields, which you may use any way you wish. In lookup I break either the LoC or Dewey call nmbrs into parts and place each in a seperate table column. But you may choose to have up to 3 seperate call nmbrs for each biblio entry. Or anything else you like.  Openbiblio will display whatever you put there, but does not use Call Nmbrs for any purpose I can think of.

The comming version 1.0 will be pretty much the same in this area.

Fred LaPlante

• schalldp

schalldp - 2009-11-20