XSS (cross-site scripting vulnerabilities)

Help
2010-09-01
2013-06-06
  • Bogdan Calin
    Bogdan Calin
    2010-09-01

Hello!

My name is Bogdan Calin. I'm a security researcher at Acunetix (http://www.acunetix.com).
    You can contact me at this email address: bogdan  acunetix.com

I wanted to contact you on a private channel (because I'm reporting security issues), however the only contact information I could find was this forum.

I would like to report a list of XSS vulnerabilities in NuSOAP.

In various files contained in the NuSOAP library, you echo the contents of the $_SERVER variable without properly encoding it.

Here are a few cases (I'm using the latest version of NuSOAP, version 0.9.5):
    Filename lib\nusoap.php, line 5429

<p>View the <a href="'.$PHP_SELF.'?wsdl">WSDL</a> for the service.

$PHP_SELF is initialized before as

$PHP_SELF = $_SERVER['PHP_SELF'];

Same situation in file class.wsdl.php, line 847

<p>View the <a href="'.$PHP_SELF.'?wsdl">WSDL</a> for the service.

This makes it vulnerable to XSS. By using an URL like

http://site/filename.php/1%3CScRiPt%3Eprompt(923395)%3C/ScRiPt%3E

it's possible to execute Javascript code.

Our scanner found an XSS vulnerability in a popular application that is using NoSOAP and that's how we got to you.

I hope you will fix this problem. Thanks in advance and have a nice day!
    Bogdan

• (Monitoring)

• Olivier Berger
    Olivier Berger
    2010-09-03

@dhx1 Why use htmlentities() and not htmlspecialchars() ?
    Also, why not just protect the definition of $PHP_SELF instead of all of its uses ?

• Olivier Berger
    Olivier Berger
    2010-09-04

Oh, and Btw (thanks to Raphael Geissert who made me notice), the PHP_SELF use for the ?wsdl link is useless. It's enough to do …<a href="?wsdl">…

I think that's gonna be the patch I'll include in an updated Debian package.

• David Hicks
    David Hicks
    2010-09-04