DBGp remote server debugging

Tonari
2011-06-18
2013-05-21
  • Tonari
    Tonari
    2011-06-18

Hello everybody.
    I'm a php beginner trying to setup xdebug and DBGp for php debugging.
    I followed this tutorial (http://amiworks.co.in/talk/debugging-php-using-xdebug-and-notepad-part-i/) and had no problem in debugging locally.
    Now I would like to debug a site hosted on a remote machine.
    I'm developing on a 32 bit Windows 7 professional machine and the site is located in a Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition.
    I managed to install the Xdebug.dll on the server, however I'm not able to make the Notepad++ client and the server communicate.

On my php.ini I added

zend_extension_ts="C:/php/ext/php_xdebug-2.1.1-5.2-vc6.dll"
    xdebug.profiler_output_dir = ""
    xdebug.profiler_output_name = "cachegrind.out.%p"
    xdebug.profiler_enable = 0
    xdebug.profiler_append=0
    xdebug.extended_info=1
    xdebug.remote_enable=1
    xdebug.remote_handler=dbgp
    xdebug.remote_mode=req
    xdebug.remote_host=127.0.0.1
    xdebug.remote_port=9000
    xdebug.idekey=xdebug
    xdebug.remote_log=""
    xdebug.show_exception_trace=0
    xdebug.show_local_vars=9
    xdebug.show_mem_delta=0
    xdebug.trace_format=0

On the DBGp config dialog screen in Notepad++ I entered the server IP address, an IDE key ("xdebug"), the remote path (like "\\myserver\d\htdocs\") and a local path (D:\htdocs\). "htdocs" is the folder where all the sites on the server are stored. Then I tried to debug my site adding the debug session name parameter (http://myserver.address.com/mysite/main.php?XDEBUG_SESSION_START=xdebug) but nothing seemed to happen.
    Now, clearly I'm doing something wrong and I searched the net for any tutorial on this issue, but I found only articles referring to local server debug setup (that is using Wamp, EasyPhp, etc).

Could anyone please give me some advice or at least point me to a tutorial to resolve this problem?

Thank you very much.

• delbert