2. Help
brynn
2014-06-29
2014-07-05
  • brynn
    brynn
    2014-06-29

Hi Friends,
    I am not someone who writes code very often. I made a simple HTML webpage with Notepad++, which I keep updated. And occassionally I need to edit code in other files (for my website). So I'm a super newbie, compared to you all. And there's likely a simple answer to this question.

Ok, I'm using version 6.5, which undoubtedly could be updated. But without knowing if this problem is a bug, I don't know if updating will solve it. And I'm on Win7, 64-bit.

The problem is that sometimes when I use the Tab key, to indent a line, it inserts an extra line space, along with the indent. Sort of like a double-space + indent. It's not consistent, afaict. I don't see anything similar among the many instances. Sometimes it happens and sometimes it doesn't.

Do you need to see an example? I don't see any way to attach a file or image here. But I could give you a link to an image, if it would be helpful.

I've looked through Preferences, and experimented with some settings that sound like they might affect the indent. But none of them fixed the problem.

OH!! I just realized this! It only happens when I try to indent lines that have been wrapped. Maybe that will make it even easier for you to find a solution!

Ok, lmk if you need any more info. And thank you very much!

All best,
    brynn

PS - more info
    If I maximize the window, the extra line space disappears. When I un-maximize it (restore down), the space reappears.

Now knowing that, I'm guessing there will be no solution. But if there is, I'd be happy to know about it :-) TA

PS#2
    But an extra line space isn't added when indenting ALL wrapped lines. It looks like it's only happening in the <style></style> section of the CSS part of my HTML file. Later down in the html section, there doesn't seem to be a problem. (I forget the name of it, but this is the kind where CSS is in the same file as the HTML. Not in a separate file.) TA