carriage return/encoding issue

Houdini16
2014-02-12
2014-02-12
  • Houdini16
    Houdini16
    2014-02-12

I have been using this program for a couple years now for doing post edit on GCODE for CNC milling machines. Now after a newer update (I believe)the output code has 1 issue.
    If I go down to a line, hit enter to add a new line of code, add the text, and save the file, it looks ok in Notepad++, In Windows Notepad it doesnt have the return, the new line I added and the previous are on 1 line (no carriage return). We just use standard notepad it is a ansi normal text document but without any extension ie no .txt, just blank, our CNC wont read it with a extension.
    I notice that Notepad++ defaults for new document is set to a UTF-8, Is this how it was before, IDK, it worked before, but not lately, something changed. I tried changing the default to ANSI, to resemble Notepad(win) but still doesnt work. When i look at the code in the CNC mill, where there is supposed to be a carriage return(new line added) instead there is a symbol, a black square with a circle in the middle. PLEASE help, this is for work and we use it all day, this program is much better than Notepad.

• dail8859
    dail8859
    2014-02-12

Try turning on the end of line characters so you can see what your file contains and what the newline has. Use View->Show Symbol->Show End of Line. I would assume its mixing DOS and Unix line endings.

• Houdini16
    Houdini16
    2014-02-12

Thanks for the tip, if I turn that on when I hit enter to add the new line of code it isnt adding the CR on the previous line, Also when I open Notepad++ (blank, no file)it now is set to windows/dos and ANSI, but when I open up the document it switches to UNIX, ANSI.

• dail8859
    dail8859
    2014-02-12