Hard to explain: Cursor remembers placement?

2. Help
2007-01-13
2013-03-25
  • Hello,

I have done as much searching as I can on this, but it is so hard to describe that I am not sure what to search for.

I am brand new to Notepad++ and have really taken a shine to it. Since switching from TextPad after 3+ years, , I have found more modern features such as code-folding, auto-complete braces, etc. are invaluable. However, the one thing that TextPad does that I haven't found in any other text editor, is a certain cursor behavior.

Say I have a number of lines that need a minor edit, for instance commenting out some php code. After adding a couple of forward slashes to comment the first line, then pressing the down arrow, the cursor lines up back at the beginning of the next line. Then I only have to add a couple more forward slashes to comment out the second line. Ditto for the next line, etc.

Notepad++ and other editors will behave the same for the first line, but for following lines, the cursor is going to end up 2 characters into the line. So now, I have to press the left arrow twice to get back to the beginning spot.

A few bits of info about this:

- Yes, I really am that lazy that two left arrow presses is a problem. OK, not really, but so many years of relying on that feature has encoded it into my brain and I love it.

- Yes, I know I could use a block comment to comment-out multiple lines, but this was an easy way to describe what I have been having so much trouble with...

- TextPad doesn't always go back to the beginning of the line. It moves to the place the cursor was prior to the edit. For example, in the middle of a line 10 at character 25 I add another 10 characters, then press the down arrow. I end up at line 11, character 25. Other editors put me at line 11, character 35.