Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Need help creating a macro for a game modder..

2. Help
David Hill
2014-03-09
2014-07-08
  • David Hill
    David Hill
    2014-03-09

Hi,

I have been using  NP++ for 3 years now to edit game files for the

Men Of War series of WW2 RTS games....

I can create simple macros by using the record and playback feature but
    i now need to create more advanced macros..

From my research the game uses Ostfront scripting language which is
    similar to C++ or Java..

I would like some help creating a macro that would clear the inventories
    of units from the mission file... instead of having to manually remove
    lines by hand....

Regards,

David

• Loreia2
    Loreia2
    2014-03-09

Hi David,

please share a code sample, and explain which changes you need to make in the code. Regular expressions should be enough to solve this.

BR,
    Loreia

• David Hill
    David Hill
    2014-03-10

awesome, thanks.. I don't think message space here will be enough for a full mission script and the syntax is quite specific..... Below is a mediafire link to a sample file..

http://www.mediafire.com/view/8ttoory16dk18a7/0.mi

I have found out from one of the developers of the game that it is C language / syntax.

NOTE: The mission file has a "{" character to denote start of file and a "}" to denote end of file and the structure is important or game will crash....

I would like to be able to remove the inventory entries using a macro and and a code example is below.

{Inventory 0x801d
        {box
            {clear}
            {item "valter" filled {cell 0 0}}
            {item "pistol" "ammo" 100 {cell 2 0}}
            {item "tank_cap2_ger" {cell 4 0}{user "head"}}
        }
    }

In the sample file the inventory entries start at line number 4143 and go to line 8123