Total Newb Needs Help With Notepad++

2012-10-18
2012-11-13
  • Trevor Zacek
    Trevor Zacek
    2012-10-18

Hi everyone,

I have a large text file that I opened with Notepad++ and there are occurences of opening <Title> and closing </Title> tags. There are many of them, about 23 thousand, actually.

I need to copy the text between these tags. So as the output I need 23 thousand lines, each line including the text that appeared between the title tags in the original code.

Can anyone tell me how to do that?

Thanks!

• Anonymous
    2012-10-18

You can replace all appearances of <Title>  and </Title> with an empty string.

• I think you can combine "Macro" tool with regexp search. Something like:
    -Start macro recording
    -Ctrl+F
    -Write regular expression, that will search next text block with <Title> and </Title>
    -Cut it
    -goto the end of file
    -Paste it
    -Stop macro recording
    -Replay macro so many times you want (or "to the end of file")
    -Replace <Title> and  </Title> to empty string.

• srbs
    srbs
    2012-10-19

My suggestion is to use Textcrawler's Extract tool with a regular expression.

This regex should work:
    (?<=<Title>).*?(?=</Title>)

• Jan Schreiber
    Jan Schreiber
    2012-10-19

On the Mark tab of the find dialog, check "Regular expression" and "Mark line". Enter "<Title>(.+)</Title>" (w/o the quotes) as search term, then click "Find All." This step will add bookmarks to all the lines that match the regEx.
    Then do Search -> Bookmark -> Copy Bookmarked Lines and paste to a new document. Finally, on the Replace tab of the Find and Replace dialog reuse the above regEx and use "$1" (without quotes) as replace term. This step will remove "<Title>" and "</Title>".

• THEVENOT Guy
    THEVENOT Guy
    2012-10-28

Hello tekamolo,

I think we can do the job with ONLY ONE search/replacement !

1) COPY ALL the text BETWEEN the TWO lines '------------', below, in a NEW file