Learn how easy it is to sync an existing GitHub or Google Code repo to a SourceForge project! See Demo

Close

Search/Replace with regular expressions

wikispooks
2013-04-04
2013-04-05
  • wikispooks
    wikispooks
    2013-04-04

I'm not a programmer so please bear with me. The below example concerns manipulating back-forth referencing in html footnotes - fairly obvious I guess. I find my self having to do masses of this in existing documents for both wikitext and html where the links are messed up or otherwise not properly implemented. I need something beyond regular find/replace with manual editing of the footnote numbers themselves.

Example:

Search

<a href="#refx">[x]</a>

Replace with

<a href="#refx" name="refx">[x]</a>

where the x,s can be anywhere between 1 and say 500

I've had a quick look around the regular expressions section of the wiki and will probably get there by myself eventually, but any help from the forum would be much appreciated.

• wikispooks
    wikispooks
    2013-04-04

I've got as far as finding the strings OK with single digits using:

(<a href="#ref.">\[.\]</a>)

Also I can find the double and triple digits using 2 or 3 dots.

But I'm struggling to get close to a workable replace. Also it would be good to do the job in one pass.

I guess I should have put this the help section; sorry.

• You can use [0-9]{1,3} to mean between 1 and 3 digits, instead of just a dot.

You don't need the brackets around the whole expression, but adding brackets around the ([0-9]{1,3}) means you can use $1 in the replace expression to mean "whatever was found in the first bracketed expression". $2 would refer to the second set of brackets if you needed that.

• wikispooks
      wikispooks
      2013-04-04

Thanks a bunch Dave

I'm nearly there and your post ought to clinch it.

I'll post what I finally come up with but may not be until tomorrow now

• wikispooks
    wikispooks
    2013-04-04